EU Relations with Eastern Partnership

eastern partnership

The Eastern Partnership (EaP) is a joint initiative of the EU and its Eastern European partners: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine. Launched in 2009 at the EU Prague Summit, it brings our Eastern European partners closer to the EU. The Eastern Partnership supports and encourages reforms in the EaP countries for the benefit of their citizens. 

The Partnership is based on a commitment to the principles of international law and fundamental values, including democracy, rule of law and respect for human rights and fundamental freedoms, as well as to a market economy, sustainable development and good governance. The Partnership is founded on mutual interests and commitments as well as shared ownership and mutual accountability.

Read more

Key Documents

Subscribe to Newsletters and alerts


Eastern Partnership Summit, Riga - Doorstep by Federica MOGHERINI

LIVE Eastern Partnership Summit, Riga - arrivals, group photo, roundtable

Towards a new European Neighbourhood Policy: the EU launches a consultation on the future of its relations with neighbouring countries

High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy/Vice-President of the Commission Federica Mogherini and Commissioner for European Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations Johannes Hahn are launching today a consultation on the future of the European Neighbourhood Policy(ENP)

Countries concerned