

PRESS RELEASE

Travel to Europe without a Tourist Visa

Historic signing removes Schengen Visa requirement for TT citizens



MAY 28, 2015 (Port of Spain): The European Union Delegation to Trinidad and Tobago today announced that the short-stay visa waiver agreement between the European Union (EU) and Trinidad and Tobago will be signed today, at the margin of the EU-African Caribbean and Pacific Ministerial meeting taking place in Brussels, Belgium. The Agreement allows citizens of Trinidad and Tobago to visit Schengen area countries for a short stay of up to 90 days without requiring a visa, as long as the purpose of the visit is not to carry out a paid activity. The Agreement is provisionally applied from the date of the signature, in order to allow citizens to benefit from the visa-free travel as soon as possible. Trinidad and Tobago joins eight other Caribbean countries that enjoy visa-free travel to Europe.

Charge d'Affaires of the European Union Delegation to Trinidad and Tobago welcomed the signing and hailed it as a great achievement: "We are pleased to be able to announce today that TT citizens can now travel to the Schengen countries in Europe visa free. We know that there are many who have been

waiting for this development to plan their trips to Europe and we are happy to welcome them to visit. The doors to Europe are wide open."

The Schengen area comprises those European Countries that have abolished control at their common borders to encourage free movement of goods, information, money and people. Citizens of Trinidad and Tobago can now travel visa free to the following European Countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Iceland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland. In addition, travellers will be able to travel visa free to the three European micro-states, Monaco, San Marino, and Vatican City.

TT travellers to Ireland and the U.K. could already visit these countries for short stays without a visa even before this visa waiver agreement was signed.

The Schengen area mostly functions as a single country for international travel purposes, with a common visa policy. The Area is named after the Schengen Agreement which was signed in 1985 in the village of Schengen in Luxembourg.

The Schengen Visa Waiver Agreement provides for visa-free travel citizens of T&T to the Schengen countries for stays not exceeding three months. TT citizens can visit the Schengen Area once or multiple times, provided that the total stay does not exceed 90 days within a 6-month period (180-days). All the visa waived traveller needs to do is to present a valid passport at the point of entry into one of the "Schengen" countries.

The Agreement covers all categories of travellers, such as ordinary, diplomatic, service/official and special passport holders, <u>except</u> for the category of persons travelling for the purpose of paid activities. In this case, each country of destination in Europe remains free to impose the visa requirement in accordance with its applicable legislation.

It should be noted that only citizens of Trinidad and Tobago are eligible for this waiver. Citizens of other countries who are resident in Trinidad and Tobago are not subject to this agreement and should abide by the visa requirements of their country of citizenship.

Other than Trinidad and Tobago, the Caribbean countries that now enjoy visa free travel to Europe include Antigua and Barbuda, the Bahamas, Barbados, Dominica, Grenada, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.

A wealth of information about the Schengen visa can be found on the website: <u>http://www.schengenvisainfo.com/</u>. You may also visit the European Union Delegation's website at: <u>http://www.eeas.europa.eu/delegations/trinidad/travel_eu/visa/index_en.htm</u>.

CONTACT:

Karen Sheppard Press and Information Officer Delegation of the European Union to Trinidad and Tobago Sagicor Financial Centre, 16 Queen's Park West, Level 2 Port of Spain, Trinidad Telephone: +1 868 622 6628, ext. 39 Fax: +1 868 622 6355 Mobile: +1 868 759 5926 Email: Karen.sheppard@eeas.europa.eu

###