# The Delegation of the European Union announces the 2012 Jean Monnet Award

The Delegation of the European Union announces the 2012 Jean Monnet Award which this year celebrates its 10<sup>th</sup> Anniversary.

On the occasion of its 10<sup>th</sup> Anniversary the Jean Monnet Award would be given in 3 competition categories for best achievements in covering issues related to the EU and the country's accession to the EU:

- 1. Best Journalistic Article Competition (for articles published in print media and/or web)
- 2. Best Reporters' Photography Competition (for photographs published in print media and/or web)
- 3. Best Amateurs' Photography Competition

## 1. Best Journalistic Article Competition

The participating works in this category are authors' articles on the EU and the country's accession to the EU, published in national newspapers, magazines and websites in the period between 1 January 2012 and 8 November 2012.

The jury will evaluate selection of articles on the base of nomination by the editors in chief of each nationally distributed printed media or national websites.

It is expected that the editors in chief will nominate to the Delegation of the European Union one (or more journalists) who has been covering EU matters throughout the year and maximum 5 articles (per nomination) related to EU matters. The nominations (name of the authors, address, contact telephone, e-mail and the supporting articles) should be sent on following e-mail address jm2012@euic.mk

The article/s should fulfil the following criteria:

- The article refers to the EU and/or the country's accession to the EU;
- The article is published in the period between 1 January 2012 and 8 November 2012;
- The article is signed by the author's real name;
- The author is a Macedonian citizen.

Award: statuette, certificate and 1.000€ monetary award

2. <u>Best Reporters' Photography Competition (for photographs published in print media and/or web)</u>

The competition is open for all professional photo-reporters and photographers from the country, who can submit up to 3 photographs on EU related subjects, published in the period between 1 January 2012 and 8 November 2012.

The photographs eligible for the competition must fulfil the following criteria:

- The photography refers to the EU and/or the country's accession to the EU;
- The photography is published in the period between 1 January 2012 and 8 November 2012;
- Photographs used for commercial purposes are not eligible for the competition;
- The author is a Macedonian citizen.

Copies of the photography/photographs in digital format (CD or USB), together with a written and signed statement by the author guaranteeing that she/he is author of the photography, need to be sent by post or submitted directly, to the Delegation of the European Union at: M.H. Jasmin 52 v, latest by 8 November 17.00 hrs.

Award: statuette, certificate and 1.000€ monetary award

## 3. Best Amateurs' Photography Competition

The competition is open for all amateur photographers from the country, who can submit one photograph on an EU related subject. The photographs competing in this category may, but do not need to be previously published.

The photographs eligible for the competition must fulfil the following criteria:

- The theme of the photography refers to the EU and/or the country's accession to the EU;
- Photographs used for commercial purposes are not eligible for the competition;
- The author is a Macedonian citizen.

The photography, together with a written and signed statement by the author guaranteeing that she/he is author of the photography\*, should be sent to the following e-mail address <a href="mailto:jm2012@euic.mk">jm2012@euic.mk</a>, latest by 8 November 17.00 hrs.

Each competitor can submit 1 (one) photograph.

## Award: Certificate and 500€ monetary award

\*Note: The Delegation of the European Union shall not be held responsible for any legal liability arising from any disputes over the copy or author rights, which shall be solely the responsibility of the applicant. The Delegation of the European Union reserves the right to cancel the qualification of the disputed entry and recover any award and prize granted.

#### Other information

The jury would be consisted of five members – representative of the EU Delegation, representative of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, professional photo-reporter winner of the last year's Jean Monnet Award, representative of the academic community and an Honorary President of the Jury.

The deadline for entries is 17.00hrs, 08 November 2012, (the mailing date on envelopes for the second category will be taken into consideration) at the following address:

Delegation of the European Union Mito HadzivasilevJasmin 52v 1000 Skopje For the 'Jean Monnet' Media Award Competition (second category)

The awarding ceremony will take place on 13 December 2012.

Contact person: Konstantin Jovanovski Delegation of the European Union

tel: 3248 537 fax: 3248 501

E-mail: konstantin.jovanovski@eeas.europa.eu