

PRESS-RELEASE

Kyrgyz and Tajik Local Authorities will be Trained in Interethnic Relations

Leilek, Kyrgyzstan 22 May 2012 – A regular meeting of a cross-border working group from Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan has been arranged by the EU-UNDP Border Management in Central Asia (BOMCA) Programme together with UNDP Peace and Development Programme.

Fifty representatives of local authorities, border detachments, customs service and law-enforcement agencies from Leilek (Kyrgyzstan) and Djabarasulov (Tajikistan) districts will discuss trans-border issues such as joint use of pastures, distribution of water resources and dealing with natural disasters. At the end of the meeting participants will adopt a joint action plan of trans-border cooperation.

On the next day, 23 May 2012, thirty members of another cross border working group representing local authorities and law enforcement officers from Batken (Kyrgyzstan) and Isfara (Tajikistan) will be trained in interethnic conflict prevention techniques. They will receive knowledge in rights of ethnic minorities and discrimination of ethnic minorities. During practical exercise they are expected to make ethnic conflict analysis and study interethnic conflicts solving techniques.

The overall objectives of BOMCA are to help increase security in the Central Asian region, to contribute toward the facilitation of legitimate trade and transit, and to reduce the illicit movement of goods and people.

The EU-UNDP BOMCA assistance programme is funded by the European Union and implemented by UNDP.

For additional information, please contact Asel Sekimova, BOMCA Regional Communication Specialist, at <u>asel.sekimova@bomca.eu</u> or (+996 312) 31 73 83



A project implemented By: UNDP

Address: Kyrgyzstan

Bishkek,

Tel: (+996 312) 31 73 83 asel.sekimova@bomca.eu



This project is funded by the European Union

Delegation of the European Union To the Republic of Tajikistan

74 Adhamov Street
734013 Dushanbe, Republic of Tajikistan
Tel: (+992 37) 221 74 07, 227 10 24
Fax: (+992 37) 221 43 21
Delegation-Tajikistan-Pic@eeas.europa.eu
http://www.deltjk.ec.europa.eu

The European Union is made up of 27 Member States who have decided to gradually link together their knowhow, resources and destinies. Together, during a period of enlargement of 50 years, they have built a zone of stability, democracy and sustainable development whilst maintaining cultural diversity, tolerance and individual freedoms. The European Union is committed to sharing its achievements and its values with countries and peoples beyond its borders. To this end the EU is active in Tajikistan since 1992 and provides approximately EUR 25 million annually in development assistance.