The Role of the EU Delegation

The Delegation of the European Commission to Solomon Islands opened in Honiara in 1981.Following the entry into force of the Lisbon Treaty on December 1, 2009, the Delegation is now officially called the Delegation of the European Union to Solomon Islands. It is one of more than 130 EU Delegations around the world. The Delegation is regionalized and depends on the Papua New Guinea delegation.It has the status of a diplomatic mission and officially represents the European Union in the Solomon Islands.

The mandate of the Delegation of the European Union to Solomon Islands includes the following:

  • Develop and maintain good and effective contacts with the national, regional, local authorities and administrations, representatives of the business community, EU Member States' Embassies, third countries' Embassies as well as with international and regional organizations/institutions;
  • To establish a close dialogue with the authorities and other stakeholders (civil society organizations, local media) on economic, social, governance, human rights and other policy issues;
  • To state and explain the European Union position to the national authorities and to local Member States Representatives;
  • Support the preparation and implementation of the technical assistance programs financed by the EU.