Travelling to the EU only requires a Visa from the Embassy of your main country of destination in the EU. Here you can find the list of Embassies of EU Member States present in Peru.

The Schengen Area was established by agreement of the same name and covers 26 European countries: 22 member States of the EU (Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden) and four associated countries (Liechtenstein, Norway, Iceland and Switzerland). Its aim is to harmonize external border controls and allow a free movement of people within Europe.

The United Kingdom, Ireland, Croatia, Cyprus, Bulgaria and Romania are not part of this area, therefore, visas to enter these countries must be directly arranged with their respective consular authorities.

Visa Information System

On 5 September 2013, the Visa Information System (VIS) started operations in South America because of the implementation of the system in the consular offices in Argentina, Bolivia, Brasil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela.

The VIS is progressively being implemented worldwide and uses biometric data (fingerprints and a digital facial image), which will facilitate the identification of visa holders and help to avoid identity theft. This new system will allow for a quick and effective exchange of data on short-stay visas among Schengen countries. The VIS will also reinforce the integrity of the system and strengthen trust among its member States.


A new technologically advanced system

Currently, around 14 million Schengen visas are issued every year by the 26 countries of the Schengen area, and numbers are likely to increase in the future. The new technologically advanced Visa information system (VIS) helps to tackle these challenges by introducing digital facial image and fingerprints. Some countries part of the Schengen area were already taking this biometric data for their visa applicants, which means that its implementation will not mean further changes.

Thanks to the new system it will take just a few clicks to verify the real identity of a visa holder, and therefore prevent and fight fraudulent use of visas.

Visa authorities in all Schengen states will be able to consult the VIS data, for example when a previous applicant applies for a new visa. The VIS will contain all Schengen visa applications and all subsequent decisions taken by the visa authorities. This will allow applicants to obtain new visas quicker and more easily, as authorities will be able to verify the applicant's good track-record and reliability.

Since the beginning of its implementation, the VIS has not become operational in all Schengen countries consulates worldwide at once. It has been progressively deployed in the North Africa region (October 2011), the Middle East (May 2012), the Gulf region (October 2012), western and central Africa (March 2013) and east and south of Africa (June 2013). It is expected that all the Schengen countries consulates worlwide will be connected to the VIS in the following years. 

A fast, fair and secure application procedure

The procedure for collecting fingerprints is simple, rapid and discreet. The applicant will only have to place his or her fingers on the surface of a digital scanner. When lodging subsequent applications within five years, the fingerprints will not be taken again but copied from the previous application in the VIS. Fingerprint data will be erased after 5 years.

When the visa holder arrives at the external border, the Schengen states' border guards will verify his or her identity and check the authenticity of the visa in the VIS. This will help to avoid the risk of visa fraud (such as trying to use someone else's visa) by allowing quick, safe and secure biometric verifications. At the same time, the procedure will be faster for bona fide applicants, who constitute the overwhelming majority of travellers.

The VIS was established by Council Decision 2004/512/EC and EC Regulation 767/2008 .