The Role of the EU Delegation


EU Delegation's are representative offices that the community institution has throughout the world (at the moment 141). The Delegation for Peru is based in Lima and was opened in March 1991. It is the official representative of the European Union in Peru and is also the link with the Andean Community, because its General Secretariat is also located in the Peruvian Capital.

The Delegation in Peru has a diplomatic status similar to that of those countries with established diplomatic relations in the country and as such enjoys a regime of privileges and immunities, contained in a Headquarters/Agreement signed with the Peruvian Government in 1990.

The Delegation of the European Union for Peru is led by the Head of the Delegation, granted the honorary title of Ambassador by the Peruvian Government.

On June 2013, Irene Horejs has been appointed Head of the EU Delegation to Peru, as part of the rotation exercise within the European External Action Service (EEAS). When the process of accreditation will be finished, Mrs Horejs will be the Official Representative of the European Union in Peru.