Important Dates for EU and Mongolia Relations


Establishment of diplomatic relations between EC and Mongolia. Accreditation of Mongolian Ambassador to Brussels in 1990. Accreditation of EC Head of Delegation in Beijing to Ulaanbaatar in 1991.


Trade and Cooperation Agreement enters into force.


Mongolia becomes eligible for TACIS Programme (Technical Assistance to Community of Independent States and Mongolia) which has since then provided the major part of EC project grants.


European Commission adopts first Country Strategy Paper (CSP) which outlines the priorities for EC cooperation with Mongolia.

Jan 2004

Mongolia becomes eligible for the ALA Assistance Programme for Asian and Latin American Developing Countries.

May 2004

EU enlargement from 15 to 25 member states - six member states with resident embassies in Ulaanbaatar: Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Poland and UK.

Sept 2004

Seminar on "Opportunities for Cooperation between Mongolia and the EU" in Ulaanbaatar: Asia Wide Programmes, Science & Technology under the 6th Framework Programme, Trade-Related Technical Assistance.

Dec 2005

Practically all Mongolian exports are granted tariff-free access to the EU under the reformed Generalised System of Preferences (GSP+).

Jun 2006

9th EC-Mongolia Joint Committee meeting and first ever EU-Troika visits to Mongolia. The European Commission opens a Technical Office in Ulaanbaatar.

Sept 2006

ASEM6 in Helsinki: Mongolia joins the ASEM process.

Jan 2007

EU enlargement from 25 to 27 member states - now six member states with resident embassies in Ulaanbaatar: Bulgaria, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Poland and UK.

Jan 2007

Mongolia becomes eligible for geographical and thematic programmes under Development Cooperation Instrument (DCI)

Mar 2007

The new Strategy Paper 2007-2013 with a focus on rural development was adopted. The corresponding Multiannual Indicative Programme 2007-2010 allocates EUR 14 million to Mongolia.

Oct 2008

ASEM7 in Beijing: For the first time, Mongolia participated ASEM submit.

Apr 2009

EU signs civil aviation agreement with Mongolia.

Sept 2009

The official launch of negotiations to conclude a Framework Agreement on Partnership and Cooperation between the European Community and its Member States and Mongolia took place on 17 September in Ulaanbaatar.

Nov 2010

The Government of Mongolia and the European Union (EU) signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on the Multiannual Indicative Plan (MIP) for cooperation for the period 2011-2013. The MIP 2011-2013 allocates EUR 15 million to Mongolia.

Dec 2010

The Initiation of Partnership and Cooperation Agreement between the European Community and its Member States and Mongolia took place on 20 December in Ulaanbaatar.

April 2013

The signing of the EU-Mongolia Partnership and Cooperation Agreement took place on 30 April in Ulaanbaatar.

Nov 2013

President of the European Commission, Mr. Jose Manuel Barroso visited Mongolia.


Mongolia becomes eligible for EU Framework Programme for Research & Innovation "Horizon 2020”.

June 2015

New EU-Mongolia Cooperation Framework 2014-2020 launched in UB; budget doubled to €65 mln

June 2015

Mongolian President Ts.Elbegdorj visited European Parliament

Back to Political & economic relations