

Press Release

15 April, 2015 Chisinau

Launch of Energy Policy Review Publication by Executive Director of the International Energy Agency

The New IEA Publication Energy Policies Beyond IEA Countries: Eastern Europe, Caucasus and Central Asia was launched and presented by the Executive Director of the International Energy Agency (IEA), Mrs. Maria van der Hoeven. The Head of the Political and Economic Section of the EU Delegation Mr Wicher Slagter and State Secretary of the Ministry of Economy of the Republic of Moldova, Mrs Lilia Palii, participated in the launching of this publication.

The IEA publication provides a complete review of the energy policies and sector developments in Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan. It highlights distinct energy sector challenges including aged infrastructure, high energy-intensity, low energy efficiency, untapped alternative energy potential and poorly functioning regional energy markets.

The report provides a summary of key recommendations for policy makers in the region. For Moldova, one of the key recommendations is to continue on the path of energy policy reforms by concluding the legislative packages, including finalisation of the Law on Renewable Energy and the Law on Energy Efficiency. Priority should also be given to the rapid development of secondary legislation which would enable prompt implementation of commitments undertaken under the National Energy Strategy (NES) 2030 and the Energy Community Treaty.

Energy policy reviews were conducted by the International Energy Agency in close cooperation with the INOGATE Programme, including its Technical Secretariat and Partner Countries' governments.

The publication has been produced with European Union financial assistance provided through the European Neighbourhood and Partnership Instrument.

More information on this publication can be found on the **IEA website**.



Contact details:

M. Kogalniceanu Street 12, Chisinau, MD 2001 European Union Delegation in the Republic of Moldova

The European Commission is the EU's executive body.

The European Union is made up of 28 Member States who have decided to gradually link together their know-how, resources and destinies. Together, during a period of enlargement of 50 years, they have built a zone of stability, democracy and sustainable development whilst maintaining cultural diversity, tolerance and individual freedoms. The European Union is committed to sharing its achievements and its values with countries and peoples beyond its borders.

Tel: (+373 22) 50 52 10