

DELEGATION OF THE EUROPEAN UNION PRESS RELEASE

Kingston, December 10, 2014

Jamaica receives EU help to fight illicit drug trade

A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) was today signed between the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) and the Ministry of Transport and Works for the establishment of the Airport Communication Project (AIRCOP III). Phase III of the programme which runs from 2014 to 2016 has received support of €3 million or J\$42.4 million (calculated at the current exchange rate) from the European Union.

AIRCOP aims to build drug-interdiction capacity at 24 selected international airports in Africa, Latina America and the Caribbean through the establishment of inter-agency Joint Airport Interdiction Task Forces (JAITFs), connecting them to international law enforcement databases and communication systems such as Interpol and enabling the transmission in real time of operational information aimed at intercepting illicit shipments to other international airports.

The three phases of AIRCOP have received combined support of €7.8Million or J\$1.1 billion. AIRCOP also promotes intelligence and information sharing between services at a national and international level concerning illegal traffic by air, promotes an intelligence-led approach to countering drug trafficking as well as organizing national and regional training.

Head of Cooperation of the European Union in Jamaica, Jesús Orús Báguena noted that the programme forms part of the EU's support to Jamaica's security sector.

"This programme reaffirms the EU's commitment to fight challenges that are having an increasingly negative impact on Jamaica and the wider Caribbean population. The EU is convinced that this initiative will prove to be of added value to the country and help local authorities in the fight against organized crime and drug trafficking and further strengthen the relationship between the existing inter-agency teams as well as those in the future."

COUNTRIES COVERED UNDER AIRCOP

- ➤ **AFRICA:** Benin, Cameroon, Cabo Verde, Ethiopia (associate country), Ghana, Cote d'Ivoire, Kenya, Mali, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa (associate country), The Gambia, Togo, Mozambique, Niger, Morocco (associate country).
- LATIN AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN: Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Dominican Republic, Jamaica, El Salvador, Panama, Peru.

For more information:

Contact- Delegation of the European Union to Jamaica, Belize, Turks and Caicos Islands, Bahamas and the Cayman Islands Tel: 1 876 924 6333-7