

## **Croatia Joins the EU**

On Today July 01<sup>st</sup>, 2013, the Republic of Croatia has joined the European Union (EU), acceding as the 28<sup>th</sup> Member State and completing a process started ten years ago.

In the throes of the current situation in Europe, there has been a tendency to overlook the benefits of the enlargement of the European project, as we observe our economies through the lenses of bleak indicators of the current crisis. But this crisis has nothing to do with EU enlargement. On the contrary, the economic reforms and benefits achieved thanks to the enlargement will help place Europe on an even firmer footing to recovery.

EU enlargement is part of the solution because this enlargement extends the internal market. It opens trade, investment and financial flows, thus giving opportunities to firms in the EU and in the acceding countries.

The EU has a great part to play in the recovery of the global economy, and as our community expands, the possibilities of trade, cultural exchange and improved dialogue with our global partners, such as Jamaica also expands.

Croatia's more than 4 million citizens represent an expanded opportunity for trade with Jamaica as Croatia is wrapped into the European Single Market, an opportunity which we encourage Jamaica to explore to the fullest.

Croatia is a democratic nation at the crossroads of Central Europe, the Balkans, and the Mediterranean with a land mass covering 56,594 square kilometres (21,851 square miles).

A parliamentary republic, Croatia is an independent country since 2001. The country is ranked amongst the most popular tourism destinations in the world, both for its rich historical heritage and for its attractive landscapes, counting in its territory more than a thousand islands.

The current Member States of the European Union are:

Austria (1995); Belgium (1952); Bulgaria (2007); Croatia (2011); Cyprus (2004); Czech Republic (2004); Denmark (1973); Estonia (2004); Finland (1995); France (1952); Germany (1952); Greece (1981); Hungary (2004); Ireland (1973); Italy (1952); Latvia (2004); Lithuania (2004); Luxembourg (1952); Malta (2004); Netherlands (1952); Poland (2004); Portugal (1986); Romania (2007); Slovakia (2004); Slovenia (2004); Spain (1986); Sweden (1995); United Kingdom (1973).

## The European Union



Member States of the European Union (2013)

Candidate and potential candidate countries