

PRESS RELEASE

Kingston, June 26, 2015

EU List of non-cooperative tax jurisdictions updated with Caribbean Countries

Some Caribbean countries/territories, including those under the purview of this Delegation - Belize, Bahamas, Turks & Caicos Islands and Cayman Islands - are among a list of 30 non-cooperative tax jurisdictions most commonly listed by EU Member States. It is a culmination of lists from member states that were communicated to the European Commission in December 2014, with those listed being cited by at least ten member states. The Commission will amend this list at least once a year as changes are made to Member States' lists.

Chargé d'Affaires of the Delegation, Jesús Orús Báguena, noted that "The list is not a new mechanism as it is simply a compilation of lists from all EU Member States. It serves as a catalyst to have a wider collaborative approach within the Union to corporate taxation, and to ensure that counter measures will have a stronger effect to ensure transparency and fairness. This plan will serve to improve and strengthen the EU's internal mechanism and ensure that tax avoiders and certain third countries do not take advantage of the various approaches that each state has individually."

A more comprehensive list of all non-cooperative tax jurisdictions are on the Commissions website (below). The 30 most commonly listed were highlighted in the Action Plan for Fair and Efficient Corporate Taxation in the EU. The consolidated list is not an assessment by the Commission but a compilation of existing lists of EU Member States which looked at how non-EU countries and territories around the world apply standards of good tax governance. These standards vary, but generally include transparency, exchange of information and fair tax competition.

The consolidated list will allow EU Member States to compare their national lists in an easy and transparent way and can be used to screen non-cooperative tax jurisdictions and develop a common EU strategy to deal with them. As such, it will reinforce Member States' collective defense systems against tax havens. This "Top 30" of non-cooperative jurisdictions is made up of countries that featured on at least 10 Member States' lists.

As a next step, the Commission recommends that Member States (within the Code of Conduct Group) should screen the "top 30" listed countries and territories and determine an appropriate EU response. The Code Group's work has delivered successful results in relation to non-EU countries in the past. For example, Switzerland agreed to eliminate some of its harmful corporate tax regimes following scrutiny by the Code Group.

For more information, contact:

Delegation of the European Union to Jamaica, Belize, Turks and Caicos Islands, Bahamas and the Cayman Islands Tel: 1 876 924 6333