Structure of the EEAS

The EEAS has its headquarters in Brussels and operates 140 delegations around the world.

In all its locations, those working for the Service include European Union civil servants, local employees and civil servants from EU Member States.


Most of the daily work at the EEAS's headquarters is overseen by its Corporate Board. Reporting to this board are five large directorates that cover different areas of the world – Asia-Pacific, Africa, Europe and Central Asia, the Greater Middle East and the Americas. The directorates include departments specialising on regions and countries within those areas. Separate directorates cover global and multilateral issues (including, for example, human rights, elections and development), responses to crises, and administrative and financial matters.

The organisational chart of the EEAS illustrates this structure pdf - 191 KB [191 KB] .


The EEAS delegations operate around the world. Most are responsible for EU relations with a single country. Some oversee relations with a group of countries or a region; this is the case, for example, of the Delegation to Guyana, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago and the Dutch Overseas Countries and Territories. Finally, some EU Delegations are dedicated to organisations –the African Union for example, or the United Nations.

You can find a complete list of our delegations here.

  • Print
  • resize text to normal
  • Increase font size by 150 percent
  • Increase font size by 200 percent