About the European External Action Service (EEAS)

The EEAS is the European Union's diplomatic service. It helps the EU's foreign affairs chief – the High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy – carry out the Union's Common Foreign and Security Policy.

Formally launched on 1 January 2011, the Service was created by the Treaty of Lisbon, which itself entered into force in 2009. The principles guiding the EU's activity abroad are defined in the Treaty:

The Union's action on the international scene shall be guided by the principles which have inspired its own creation, development and enlargement, and which it seeks to advance in the wider world: democracy, the rule of law, the universality and indivisibility of human rights and fundamental freedoms, respect for human dignity, the principles of equality and solidarity, and respect for the principles of the United Nations Charter and international law.

The External Action Service, as envisioned by the Treaty, brings together expertise from EU and national diplomatic services:

This service shall work in cooperation with the diplomatic services of the Member States and shall comprise officials from relevant departments of the General Secretariat of the Council and of the Commission as well as staff seconded from national diplomatic services of the Member States.



The post of High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy

The High Representative is charged with coordinating and carrying out the EU's foreign and security policy – known as the 'Common Foreign and Security Policy' (CFSP) and the 'Common Security and Defence Policy' (CSDP).


EU Special Representatives

The European Union (EU) currently appoints Special Representatives (EUSRs) in different countries and regions of the world. The EUSRs promote the EU's policies and interests in troubled regions and countries and play an active role in efforts to consolidate peace, stability and the rule of law. The EUSRs support the work of the High Representative in the regions concerned.

Read more

Members of the EEAS Corporate Board

Executive Secretary General: Alain Le Roy  pdf - 17 KB [17 KB]

Deputy Secretary General for Political Affairs: Helga Schmid pdf - 59 KB [59 KB]

Deputy Secretary General for Inter-institutional Affairs: Maciej Popowski pdf - 23 KB [23 KB]


Managing Directors

Asia: Viorel Isticioaia Budura

Africa: Nicholas Westcott pdf - 194 KB [194 KB]

Europe and Central Asia: Luis Felipe Fernández de la Peña

Middle East and Southern Neighbourhood: Hugues Mingarelli

Americas: Christian Leffler

Global and Multilateral Issues: Maria Marinaki


Other Senior Managers

Director General, EU Military Staff (EUMS): Lt Gen Wolfgang Wosolsobe

Director, Crisis Management and Planning Department (CMPD): Gabor Iklody

Director, Civilian Planning and Conduct Capability (CPCC): Kenneth Deane

Director, EU Intelligence Analysis Centre (EU INTCEN): Ilkka Salmi

Director, Permanent Chair of the Political and Security Committee (PSC): Walter Stevens









EEAS Data Protection Office





  • Print
  • resize text to normal
  • Increase font size by 150 percent
  • Increase font size by 200 percent