About the European External Action Service (EEAS)

The EEAS is the European Union's diplomatic service. It helps the EU's foreign affairs chief – the High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy – carry out the Union's Common Foreign and Security Policy.

Formally launched on 1 January 2011, the Service was created by the Treaty of Lisbon, which itself entered into force in 2009. The principles guiding the EU's activity abroad are defined in the Treaty:

The Union's action on the international scene shall be guided by the principles which have inspired its own creation, development and enlargement, and which it seeks to advance in the wider world: democracy, the rule of law, the universality and indivisibility of human rights and fundamental freedoms, respect for human dignity, the principles of equality and solidarity, and respect for the principles of the United Nations Charter and international law.

The External Action Service, as envisioned by the Treaty, brings together expertise from EU and national diplomatic services:

This service shall work in cooperation with the diplomatic services of the Member States and shall comprise officials from relevant departments of the General Secretariat of the Council and of the Commission as well as staff seconded from national diplomatic services of the Member States.



The post of High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy

The High Representative is charged with coordinating and carrying out the EU's foreign and security policy – known as the 'Common Foreign and Security Policy' (CFSP) and the 'Common Security and Defence Policy' (CSDP). Furthermore as Vice-President of the Commission (s)he ensures the consistency of the Union's external action.


EU Special Representatives

The European Union (EU) currently appoints Special Representatives (EUSRs) in different countries and regions of the world. The EUSRs promote the EU's policies and interests in troubled regions and countries and play an active role in efforts to consolidate peace, stability and the rule of law. The EUSRs support the work of the High Representative in the regions concerned.

Read more

Secretary General

  • Secretary General: Alain Le Roy
  • Deputy Secretary General for Economic and Global Issues: Christian Leffler
  • Deputy Secretary General for Political Affairs, Political Director: Helga Schmid
  • Deputy Secretary General CSDP and Crisis Response: Pedro Serrano

Directors General

  • DG BA Director General, Budget and Administration: Gianmarco Di Vita
  • EUMS Director General, EU Military Staff: Lt Gen Wolfgang Wosolsobe

Managing Directors

  • MD-GLOBAL Human rights, global and multilateral issues: Lotte Knudsen
  • MD Africa: Koen Vervaeke
  • MD-Americas: Edita Hrda
  • MD-ASIAPAC Asia and Pacific: Gunnar Wiegand
  • MD-EURCA Europe and Central Asia: Thomas Mayr Harting
  • MD-MENA Middle East and North Africa: Nick Westcott 

Deputy Managing Directors and Directors

  • Director, General Affairs (AFFGEN): Silvio Gonzato
  • Director, Security, Infrastructure, Budget and IT: Patricia Llombart Cussac
  • Director, Human Resources: Björn Larsson
  • Director, Deputy Managing Director Human rights, global and multilateral issues: Stephan Auer
  • Director, Deputy Managing Director MD Africa: Hans Peter Schadek, f.f.
  • Director, Deputy Managing Director MD-Americas: Roland Schäfer
  • Director, Deputy Managing Director MD-ASIAPAC Asia and Pacific: Ugo Astuto
  • Director, Deputy Managing Director MD-EURCA Europe and Central Asia: Fernando Andresen Guimareas, f.f.
  • Director, Western Balkans and Turkey: Angelina Eichhorst
  • Director, Deputy Managing Director MD-MENA Middle East and North Africa: Christian Berger
  • Director, Security Policy and Conflict Prevention (SECPOL): Joëlle Jenny
  • Director, Intelligence and Situation Centre (INTCEN): Gerhard Conrad
  • Director, Crisis Management and Planning Department (CMPD): Gabor Iklody
  • Director, Civilian Planning and Conduct Capability (CPCC): Kenneth Deane
  • Director, Permanent Chair of the Political and Security Committee (PSC): Walter Stevens

Office of Secretary General

  • Head of Office: Helene Holm-Pedersen
  • Adviser: Patrice Bergamini

Protocol Service

EEAS Data Protection Office