Latest NewsRSS

More news

EU-Armenia relations

EU relations with Armenia are governed by the EU-Armenia Partnership and Cooperation Agreement (1999), which allows for wide-ranging cooperation in the areas of political dialogue, trade, investment, economy, lawmaking and culture.

Armenia's inclusion (as one of the countries of the Southern Caucasus) in the European Neighbourhood Policy (2004) and the Eastern Partnership has demonstrated the EU's willingness to move its cooperation with the EU beyond the terms of the Partnership and Cooperation Agreement.

Negotiations on Association Agreement, including a deep and comprehensive Free Trade Area (DCFTA), were finalised in July 2013. However, given Armenia's wish to join the Customs Union of Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan, announced in September 2013, the Association Agreement, incompatible with membership in the Customs Union, will not be initialled nor signed. The European Union will continue cooperation with Armenia in all areas compatible with this choice.

The Visa Facilitation and Readmission Agreements have entered into force on 1 January 2014.

For more details about EU-Armenia cooperation, see:

EU financial assistance

  • Armenia receives funding from the European Neighbourhood and Partnership Instrument (ENPI) through a national programme (see the Country Strategy Paper for Armenia as well as ENPI regional and interregional programmes.
  • EU bilateral assistance to Armenia amounts to €157 m for 2011-13 (compared to €98.4 m for 2007-10).
  • As a result of progress in reforms, governance and democracy, Armenia benefitted from additional EU allocations ( € 15 m in 2012 and € 25 m in 2013) under the Eastern Partnership Integration and Cooperation programme (EAPIC), in the framework of application of the 'more for more' principle of the revised European Neighbourhood Policy.
  • Armenia also benefits from a number of thematic programmes such as the European Instrument for Democracy and Human Rights (EIDHR).