Citizens from some non-EU countries, including Yemen, are required to hold a visa when travelling to the Schengen Area. Generally, a short-stay visa issued by one of the Schengen States entitles its holder to travel throughout the 26 Schengen States for up to three months within a six-month period. Visas for visits exceeding that period remain subject to national procedures. Schengen visa holders are usually required to enter the Schengen area via the country which has issued the visa. The EU Delegation does not issue visas.


Currently, three Member States' consulates issue Schengen visas in Sana'a: France, Italy and Germany. Based on bilateral representation arrangements, these countries also issue visas for entry to the following Schengen states:

FranceAustria, Greece, Sweden, Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands
ItalyMalta and Spain

More information:


Visas for the United Kingdom and Bulgaria, which are currently not part of the Schengen area, can be requested directly to the respective consulates in Sana'a.

More information:

For the countries not mentioned above, requests should be made to the Member States' consulates in other countries in the region. 


For applying for a Schengen visa in Yemen, please contact the embassies of the EU Member States as detained in the embassies page of this section of the website.

For more information on visa cooperation: