Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN)

The EU and the Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN) share a commitment to regional integration as a means of fostering regional stability, building prosperity, and addressing global challenges.  The EU fully supports ASEAN’s renewed efforts to build a closer relationship amongst its member states.

The EU is seeking to increase dialogue and cooperation with ASEAN, as well as to pursue closer coordination on regional and international issues.  The ASEAN-EU Ministerial Meeting of 26-27 April 2012 in Brunei Darussalam agreed on a Plan of Action for closer cooperation on political, security, economic and socio-cultural issues.

ASEAN encompasses ten South East Asian countries: Brunei DarussalamCambodiaIndonesiaLao PDRMalaysia, Myanmar (Burma)PhilippinesSingaporeThailand and Vietnam. Information on the EU’s co-operation programme with ASEAN can be found here