Further sanctions over situation in Eastern Ukraine agreed (25/07/2014)

As requested by the Foreign Affairs Council of 22 July, the Council's Committee of Permanent Representatives today discussed EU restrictive measures in view of the situation in Eastern Ukraine and the illegal annexation of Crimea.

The Committee agreed to add further persons and entities responsible for action against Ukraine's territorial integrity to the list of those subject to an asset freeze and a visa ban. This comes in addition to the currently 72 persons and two entities under EU sanctions over the situation in Ukraine.

The meeting also reached agreement on extending the designation criteria. This will pave the way for imposing asset freezes and visa bans on persons and entities that actively support or are benefiting from Russian decision makers responsible for the annexation of Crimea or the destabilisation of Eastern Ukraine.

The legal acts bringing both these agreements into force will now be adopted by written procedure and will enter into force on publication in the EU Official Journal, scheduled for the late afternoon of 25 July.

In addition, the Committee discussed additional measures to restrict trade with and investment in Crimea and Sevastopol.

The Committee also had an exchange of views on the results of preparatory work presented by the Commission and the European External Action Service on further targeted measures and proposals for taking action, including on access to capital markets, defence, dual use goods, and sensitive technologies, including in the energy sector.

Permanent Representatives will return to the latter two proposals at their next meeting on 25 July.

More information:
Council conclusions on Ukraine of 22 July
European Council conclusions dated 16 July
Factsheet on EU-Ukraine relations