Commission welcomes Ukraine in Energy Community (24/09/2010)

Ukrainefinalized its accession process to the European Energy Community. The accession Protocol was signed today by Minister of Fuel and Energy of Ukraine Yuriy Boyko and Minister of Economy of the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Fatmir Besimi (acting for the Presidency of the Energy Community)at the Energy Community Ministerial Council in Skopije (FYROM).

European Commissioner for Energy Günther Oettinger said the agreement would bring benefits to both sides. “Ukraine will have access to a pan-European energy market, based on the principles of solidarity and transparency. For the Community, Ukraine is an important new member and security of supply further improved", Oettinger stressed.

The Ministerial Council of the Energy Community had approved the accession of Ukraine in December 2009. Accession Protocol was made subject to the adoption of a gas law in compliance with EU relevant rules. Today's signature follows the enactment of the new Ukrainian gas law last July.

The Ukraine’s Parliament is now expected to ratify the Treaty establishing the Energy Community, after which Ukraine will become a member of this international organization.

The Energy Community entered into force on 1 July 2006. The parties have committed themselves to liberalise their energy markets and implement key EU legal acts in the area of electricity, gas, environment and renewable energy. Full Members are: The European Union, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and the United Nations Interim Administration Mission in Kosovo and Modova. Observer Status: Georgia, Norway and Turkey. Read more