The European Investment Bank (EIB)

The EIB is the bank of the European Union. Founded in 1958 under the Treaty of Rome, it operates in the 28 EU Member States and more than 130 other countries. Outside the EU, the Bank supports projects that contribute to economic development in countries that have signed association or cooperation agreements with the EU or its Member States. It does so at own risk to its balance sheet, under mandates from the European Parliament and Council of the European Union or using budgetary funds provided by Member States or by the EU budget. It is the largest supranational borrower and lender in the world and the only international financial institution politically accountable to EU policymakers and institutions.

The EIB in South Africa

The EIB has been active in South Africa since the country's transition to a democratic government in 1994. Following the conclusion of the EU-SA Trade, Development and Cooperation Agreement the EIB has been entrusted by the European Council with four successive mandates for a total lending volume of €2.4 billion. The current mandate covers the period 2007 to 2013 for up to €900 million.

Financing comes from the EIB's own resources, which the Bank obtains by borrowing on capital markets.

For more information about the EIB's activities in South Africa and in the region, please contact the regional office based in Pretoria.

5 Greenpark Estates
27 George Storrar Drive

Tel: +27(0)12-425-0460
Fax: +27(0)12-425-0470

Back to Development Cooperation