EU sanctions over situation in Eastern Ukraine strengthened (25/07/2014)

The Council today adopted reinforced EU sanctions in view of the situation in Ukraine, following up on the request by the European Council of 16 July and the Foreign Affairs Council of 22 July. This decision gives legal value to an agreement reached at the Committee of Permanent Representatives yesterday.

The Council added 15 further persons and 18 entities responsible for action against Ukraine's territorial integrity to the list of those subject to an asset freeze and a visa ban.

This brings the number of persons currently under EU sanctions in connection with the situation in Ukraine to 87 while the number of entities will rise to 20.

The Council also widened the designation criteria in the legal basis for the restrictive measures. This paves the way for imposing asset freezes and visa bans on persons and entities that actively support or are benefiting from Russian decision makers responsible for the annexation of Crimea or the destabilisation of Eastern Ukraine.

The sanctions will enter into force on publication in the EU Official Journal later on today.

Today's decision was adopted by written procedure.

More information:

Council conclusions on Ukraine of 22 July

European Council conclusions dated 16 July

Factsheet on EU-Ukraine relations

Factsheet EU restrictive measures 

EU Official Journal