The Role of the EU Delegation

The Delegation of the European Union in Kathmandu is one of the 141 EU Delegations around the world. It opened in March 2002 with the objective of fostering closer ties between the European Union and Nepal. The largest and most successful regional integration organisation ever and with 28 Member States following Croatia's accession on 1st July , 2013 – the EU has evolved into the world's largest single market for goods, services, labour and capital with a common foreign and security policy.  With Croatia becoming the new member of the European Union, the Union now has 28 members and 24 official languages.

 EU Delegations in practice service European Union interests as a whole, especially in areas such as presenting, explaining and implementing EU policy; analysing and reporting on the policies and developments of the countries to which they are accredited; and conducting negotiations in accordance with a given mandate.

This means that the Delegations exercise powers, by promoting the Unions interests in the common policies, notably the common trade policy, and others, such as development, agricultural, fisheries, environmental, transport and health and safety policies. Delegations are also involved in the conduct of the common foreign and security policy (CFSP), providing regular political analysis, conducting evaluations jointly with Member State embassies and contributing to the policy-making process.

 Finally, delegations provide support and assistance as necessary to the other institutions and actors of the EU, including: the High Representative for CFSP/Secretary-General of the EU Council, the European Parliament and the EU presidency. In all these areas, delegations carry out an increasingly important information function as well, providing background and updates on European integration and EU policies to host governments and administrations, media, academia, business circles and civil society.

The main partners of delegations in headquarters are the newly formed European External Action Service, Development, Enlargement, Trade Directorates, EuropeAid Cooperation Office, and the European Commission Humanitarian Aid and Civil Protection Office (ECHO).

 The EU maintains diplomatic relations with nearly all countries in the world. Its diplomatic missions operate very much like embassies and high commissions but are called Delegations.. Staff from the European Commission, the EU's executive body, and hundreds of EU Member States' diplomats work together in EU Delegations and at the headquarters in Brussels. Together they make up the EU foreign service or also known as the European External Action Service(EEAS).

All the EU Delegations work under the leadership of the High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy and Vice President of the European Commission, Federica Mogherini.