The European Union Delegation issues the following statement in agreement with the EU Heads of Mission accredited to Myanmar/Burma

The European Union and its Member States accredited to Myanmar/Burma are concerned about reports of intensifying military action and armed clashes in parts of Northern Myanmar. This has resulted in casualties and the internal displacement of several thousand civilians. Reports of forced recruitment of civilians by armed actors, rearmament of certain groups and the alleged use of landmines are deeply disturbing.

Continued fighting puts the lives of vulnerable communities, especially women and children, at risk and undermines the trust that will be essential to advancing Myanmar’s peace process on the road to national reconciliation. The signing of the Nationwide Ceasefire Agreement has been an important step on this path. Work must continue in order to implement the agreement and to make it fully inclusive.

The EU urges restraint on all sides and calls for dialogue in order to immediately end hostilities and work towards genuine, inclusive and lasting peace. We also call on all conflicting parties to facilitate immediate humanitarian access to the affected communities to cater for urgent needs of civilians.  


Note: The European Union consists of 28 member states: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and United Kingdom.