What are the categories of Schengen visa?

The Short-stay visa (Type "C"). This visa is issued for one, two or several visits. Its period of validity varies. It allows stays which do not exceed three months in any six-month period.

Airport transit visas (Type "A"). This visa is required for nationals of certain third countries who are flying to another third country but making a stopover or transfer in an airport of a Schengen State. During this transfer or stopover, the persons concerned must remain in the international transit area of the airport without entering the territory of the Schengen State in question.

Where can I apply?

If you intend to travel to one Schengen State, that State's consulate must deal with your application.

If you intend to travel to more than one Schengen State, the application must be dealt with by the Consulate of the main destination. The main destination is understood to be the destination where you intend to spend the longest time or where the main purpose of your intended journey is carried out.

Practical examples:

If you wish to travel around Schengen States for three weeks, spending two weeks in Germany and one in France, you should apply for the Schengen visa at the German consulate.

If it is not possible to define a "main destination" of your travel, you should apply for a visa at the Embassy/Consulate of the Schengen country which you will enter first during your trip.

The following Schengen States collect applications and issue visa in Pristina:

Austria and France (through the Embassy of Switzerland), Belgium, Denmark (through the Embassy of Norway), Estonia (through the Italian Visa Application Office), Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia (through the Embassy of Slovenia), Luxemburg and Netherlands (through the Embassy of Belgium), Norway, Slovenia and Switzerland.

If your country of destination is not in the list above, please refer to the section Contact details of Schengen States' consular representatives.

Where can I travel to with a visa issued by Schengen States?

Short stay visas issued by the following Schengen States in Kosovo passports allow you to travel to all Schengen States except Spain, Slovakia and Greece:
Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Sweden and Switzerland.

The short stay visas issued by Spain, Slovakia and Greece are territorially limited to Spain, Slovakia and Greece respectively.

How much will I be charged for the visa fee?

All Schengen States charge €35 visa fee for short-stay visas, except: Austria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Spain and Switzerland. The visa fee charged by these countries is €60.

Generally the visa fee is not refundable irrespective of the final decision on the visa application.

How should I apply for a visa?

You should try to lodge the application well in advance of the intended trip, if possible, but no more than three months before the start of the intended visit.

Applicants may be required to obtain an appointment for the lodging of an application. The appointment shall, as a rule, take place within a period of two weeks from the date when the appointment was requested.

When lodging the application, you should:

1-present an application form. Please find here zip - 79 KB [79 KB] the common application form States available in three languages (Albanian, Serbian and English).
2-present a valid travel document
3-present a recent (not older than 6 months), biometric-suitable, passport-size colour photograph
4-allow the collection of fingerprints where applicable
5-pay the visa fee
6-provide supporting documents
7-produce proof of possession of adequate and valid travel medical insurance

You may refer to the Schengen State of destination (see section Contact details of Schengen States' consular representatives) to get more information about the application process.

How long is the decision making procedure?

In principle, the decision should be taken within 15 calendar days after the application has been considered admissible. In individual case, the deadline may be extended up to a maximum of 30 calendar days.

You may refer to the Schengen State of destination (see section Contact details of Schengen States' consular representatives) to get more information about the issuance process.

How will the visa refusal be notified to me?

The refusal of the visa as well as the reasons on which the decision is based shall be notified by means of a standard form pdf - 24 KB [24 KB] Srpski (sr) Shqip (sq) . You have the right to appeal the negative decision in accordance with the national law of the Schengen State that refused your application. The Schengen State concerned must indicate to you the specific procedures for appealing.