Travelling to the EU

For travelling to the EU, Jordanian citizens need a visa. Depending on the destination, either a Schengen visa or a national visa is required.

The Schengen visa is a short-stay authorisation allowing holders to stay in or transit through the countries in the Schengen area without being subjected to border checks. With a Schengen visa, you may enter one country and travel freely throughout the Schengen area (repetition – see first sentence) which covers 26 countries without border controls between them. These countries (the "Schengen States") are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

For a description of how and where to apply for a Schengen visa, please refer to the information sheet for applicants in either Arabic or English pdf - 1013 KB [1013 KB] .

For travelling to   EU Member States currently not in the Schengen area (Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Ireland, Romania, and United Kingdom) a national visa is required. For information about national visa application procedures, please refer to the relevant embassy or consulate of the country you plan to visit.