This site has been archived on 28 of April 2017
HomeResourcesNews from the EU2015> Lithuania becomes the 19th Member State to adopt the euro

Lithuania becomes the 19th Member State to adopt the euro

EU News 1/2015


With Lithuania's adoption of the euro on 1 January, some 337 million Europeans in 19 Member States now share the same currency. This is a major achievement for Lithuania and for the euro area as a whole. Lithuanians are now withdrawing euro cash and paying for their purchases in euro.


The euro will gradually replace the litas as the currency of Lithuania. There will be a dual circulation period of two weeks, during which the two currencies will be in use alongside each other in order to allow for a progressive withdrawal of Lithuanian litas. When receiving a payment in litas, the change will be given in euro. This has been made possible thanks to thorough preparations ahead of the introduction of the single currency.

Source and additional information: