This site has been archived on 28 of April 2017
HomeResourcesNews from the EU2014> Denis Mukwege: winner of Sakharov Prize 2014

Denis Mukwege: winner of Sakharov Prize 2014

EU News 422/2014

European Parliament

Denis Mukwege is the laureate of the Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought 2014, following today's decision by EP President Martin Schulz and the political group leaders. Mukwege will be invited to Strasbourg on 26 November to receive the award during the plenary session.

Announcing Mukwege as the 2014 laureate, President Schulz said: "The Conference of Presidents decided unanimously to award Dr Denis Mukwege from Democratic Republic of Congo the Sakharov Prize for his fight for protection especially of women."

Source and additional information: