This site has been archived on 28 of April 2017
HomeResourcesNews from the EU2014> Commission congratulates Economics Nobel winner

Commission congratulates Economics Nobel winner

EU News 411/2014

Brussels, 13 October 2014

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel for 2014 has today been awarded to Prof. Jean Tirole "for his analysis of market power and regulation". Since 2009, the work of Prof. Tirole has been funded by the European Research Council (ERC), which supports top scientists and scholars to allow them to pursue their ground-breaking research.


Prof. Jean Tirole, based at the Toulouse School of Economics (TSE) in France, was recognised for his research on competition and analysis of how large companies should be regulated to prevent monopoly behaviour and to protect consumers. He received an ERC Advanced Grant in 2009 to examine how individuals process information before coming to a decision. He has also participated in other research projects funded under the EU's Framework Programmes for Research.

Source and additional information: