This site has been archived on 28 of April 2017
HomeResourcesNews from the EU2014> Eurozone countries in favour of Lithuania euro accession

Eurozone countries in favour of Lithuania euro accession

EU News 274/2014

Council of the European Union
Luxembourg, 20 June 2014
(OR. en)

The euro area member states today adopted a recommendation approving a proposal that would enable Lithuania to become the 19th member of the currency union on 1 January 2015.

They agreed with the Commission's assessment that Lithuania has achieved a high degree of sustainable convergence with the euro area, and that it therefore fulfils the conditions for adopting the euro as its currency. The proposal will be referred to the European Council for discussion and to the European Parliament for an opinion before a decision is taken.

Source and additional information:

20 June 2014 3324th ECOFIN Council. Photo credit "The Council of the European Union" (C)EU 2014 URL