This site has been archived on 28 of April 2017
HomeResourcesNews from the EU2013> Commissioner Geoghegan-Quinn congratulates winners of Nobel Prize in Physics

Commissioner Geoghegan-Quinn congratulates winners of Nobel Prize in Physics

EU News 427/2013

Brussels, 8 October 2013

European Commissioner for Research, Innovation and Science Máire Geoghegan-Quinn has today congratulated Belgian physicist François Englert and British physicist Peter W. Higgs for winning the 2013 Nobel Prize in Physics. They received the prize for "for the theoretical discovery of a mechanism that contributes to our understanding of the origin of mass of subatomic particles, and which recently was confirmed through the discovery of the predicted fundamental particle, by the ATLAS and CMS experiments at CERN's Large Hadron Collider." (


EU support for the LHC experiments at CERN

CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research, is the world's leading laboratory for particle physics. It has its headquarters in Geneva. At present, its member states are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.

The European Union is supporting the work at CERN through its research programme, while the European Investment Bank helped finance the construction of the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) in which the experiments to discover the Higgs Boson were conducted. CERN is currently taking part in 95 projects under the EU’s Seventh Framework Programme for Research (FP7) with an EU contribution of more than €100 million.

Source and additional information: