This site has been archived on 28 of April 2017
HomeResourcesNews from the EU2013> Elections 2014: share-out of MEPs’ seats among 28 EU countries

Elections 2014: share-out of MEPs' seats among 28 EU countries

EU News 284/2013

European Parliament
Plenary Session Constitutional affairs − 12-06-2013 - 13:46

In the 2014 European elections 12 EU member states will each lose one seat and none will gain any, under a draft decision endorsed by Parliament on Wednesday. These reductions are needed in order to comply with the 751-seat limit set by the Lisbon Treaty and to make room for Croatia's MEPs.


The proposed solution means that 12 member states – Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Portugal and Romania – will each lose one seat at the next European elections. The remaining three seats have to come from Germany, whose share must go down from 99 seats to 96, the maximum allowed by the Lisbon Treaty.

Source and additional information:'-seats-among-28-EU-countries

© European Union 2012 - European Parliament URL