This site has been archived on 28 of April 2017
HomeResourcesNews from the EU2013> Commission takes steps under the Excessive Deficit Procedure

Commission takes steps under the Excessive Deficit Procedure

EU News 261/2013

Brussels, 29 May 2013

The Commission has today recommended that the Council abrogate the Excessive Deficit Procedure (EDP) for five countries: Italy, Latvia, Hungary, Lithuania and Romania.

The Commission has also recommended that the Council open an EDP for Malta.

Moreover, the Commission has adopted Recommendations to the Council with a view to extend the deadlines for correcting the excessive deficit in six countries: Spain, France, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal and Slovenia.

In addition, the Commission has recommended that the Council decides that no effective action has been taken by Belgium to put an end to the excessive deficit and that the Council gives notice to Belgium to take measures to correct the excessive deficit.

Source and additional information: