This site has been archived on 28 of April 2017
HomeResourcesNews from the EU2013> The European Commission calls on EU Member States to fulfil their commitments towards the world’s poorest

The European Commission calls on EU Member States to fulfil their commitments towards the world's poorest

EU News 165/2013

Brussels, 3 April 2013

Aid figures released by the Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD) today show that the European Union and its 27 Member States remained the world's largest donor in 2012, providing more than half of the Official Development Assistance (ODA) reported by Development Assistance Committee (DAC). The economic crisis and severe budgetary constraints facing most developed countries have impacted global Official Development Assistance (ODA) levels negatively, resulting in a nominal decrease of more than EUR 8 billion compared to 2011. The EU collective ODA decreased to EUR 55.1 bn from EUR 56.2 bn in 2011; or from 0.45% to 0.43% of EU gross national income (GNI). The total ODA of the 27 EU Member States alone decreased from 52.8 bn to 50.5 bn, or from 0.42 to 0.39% of GNI. Only four Member States increased[1] and seven maintained their ODA levels[2], while 16 Member States reduced their effort.

Development Commissioner Andris Piebalgs said: "It is with regret that I see some Member States carrying out reductions of their ODA budgets. The EU is still the leading donor, but we are not moving in the direction of reaching our collective target of providing 0.7% of the EU Gross National Income (GNI) for development purposes. I realise some EU countries are in a dramatic situation due to the on-going crisis but we need to deliver on our commitments. Let me recall that even in times of crisis Europeans show their deeply rooted solidarity with partner countries: according to the Eurobarometer survey of October 2012, 85% of EU citizens believe that Europe should continue helping developing countries. I call on all Member States to redouble their efforts towards increasing ODA to 0.7%"

[1] Austria, Latvia, Luxemburg, Poland

[2] Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, Lithuania, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, United Kingdom

Source and additional information: