This site has been archived on 28 of April 2017
HomeResourcesNews from the EU2013> Dijsselbloem appointed Eurogroup president

Dijsselbloem appointed Eurogroup president

EU News 26/2013

21 January 2013

The Eurogroup today appointed Jeroen Dijsselbloem as its president for a term of two and a half years.

Mr Dijsselbloem is Finance Minister of The Netherlands, and will retain his post whilst chairing the Eurogroup.

He succeeds Jean-Claude Juncker, who has chaired the Eurogroup since 1 January 2005 and was its first-ever permanent president. Prior to Mr Juncker, the Eurogroup was chaired on a rotating basis. Nowadays the president is elected by a majority of its members, in line with the Protocol on the Eurogroup, which was introduced by the Treaty of Lisbon (protocol no. 14).


Mr Jeroen DIJSSELBLOEM, Dutch Minister for Finance. Photo Credit "The Council of the European Union". 2013/01/21. URL