Travelling to the EU

Israeli passport holders can travel to all EU countries without the need for a visa. If you remain within the Schengen zone it is also possible to travel freely - without passport checks - to more than one country throughout the Schengen zone.

Which countries do Schengen rules apply to?

Today, 22 EU countries fully apply the provisions of the Schengen acquis: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden. Norway, Iceland and Switzerland also apply the Schengen rules. The UK and Ireland maintain independent immigration policies, while Cyprus, Bulgaria and Romania still issue national visas valid only for a short stay in the Member State which issued them, but Israeli passport holders are not affected as they do not require such a visa.