EU announces winners of 2015 EU Prize for Journalism (21/01/2016)

For the fourth year, the European Union has announced winners for outstanding journalism in Georgia as part of its annual EU Prize for Journalism competition.

Originally established in 2012 to highlight and celebrate balanced, impartial and informative reporting, the 2015 edition is the largest yet with over 150 applicants submitting entries over six categories, demonstrating the thriving media landscape in Georgia.

At an event hosted in the Tbilisi Parliamentary Library EU Ambassador to Georgia Janos Herman, awarded five of the six categories, with the sixth category, a Special Peace Prize for Journalism presented by the Deputy Head of the EUMM, Mr Erik Hoeeg.

The winners are as follows:


a. Best investigative story in print or online media


Zurab Vardiashvili - Children of poverty (Journal Liberali)

Nino Bakradze   – Low cost profitable bitcoin produced in Georgia (

Eka Lemonjava – Meeting at the place where people were queueing up to die(

Winner:  Zurab Vardiashvili - Children of poverty (Journal Liberali)

b.Best investigative TV and/or Radio coverage


Lia Toklikishvili (co-author Maia Gogoladze) - The town sacrificed for gold (Georgian Public Broadcaster)

Tskriala Shermadini  -  Forgiven millions,  Studio Monitor, (Maestro TV)

Giorgi Gvishiani (co-authors Joseph Tsiklauri and Jago Gogilashvili) - The Georgian Nazism  (Rustavi 2 TV)

Winner: Lia Toklikishvili (co-author Maia Gogoladze) - The town sacrificed for gold (Georgian Public Broadcaster)

 c.Best online or print blog promoting vivid, balanced, fair, pluralistic debates about key social, economic, cultural issues, and indirectly able to illustrate EU values


Anuna Bukia– Patient's diary  (

David Ggonghadze – Drug addiction (

Erekle Tsotsanidze – What is the benefit of self-governance? (

Winner: Anuna Bukia– Patient's diary  (

 d. Most informative online media (news agency, news web portal, online newspaper, online journal);



e. Best documentary photo reflecting EU values (Human rights including minority rights, social justice, respect for human dignity, freedom of speech, democracy, equality and rule of law);


Daro Sulakauri  -  Deprived of adolescence

Andro Eradze – Solidarity against the disaster

Giorgi Shengelia – Four Rooms 

Winner: Daro Sulakauri  -  Deprived of adolescence


f. Best-balanced and unbiased articles in print, audiovisual or online media on the subject of conflicts (Presented by the EUMM in conjunction with IWPR)

Winner: Nino Chibchiuri - Doctors of the conflict region are building the bridges of health (

The EU Prize for Journalism is announced every year on the occasion of World Press Day on 3rd May.   


For additional information, please see:


For more information, please contact:

Delegation of the European Union to Georgia: Communications Manager, Mikolaj Bekasiak,


European Union Monitoring Mission to Georgia Spokesperson, John Durnin,