EU Member States


Europe is one of the leading regions of the world in Research, Innovation and Science and THE strong partner for China in research and innovation. The EU is today the main knowledge production centre worldwide, accounting for almost a third of the world’s science and technology production. At the same time, the European Union is responsible for 24% of world expenditure on research, 32% of high impact publications and 32% of patent applications, while representing only 7% of the world population. The European Union (EU), as demonstrated by the facts and figures included in the brochure European Research Area Facts and Figures 2014, the State of the Innovation Union 2015, the Innovation Union Scoreboard 2015 and the Innovation Union Competitiveness Report 2013. Europe’s tradition and excellence in sciences as well as its education systems attract many Chinese scholars and lead to research collaborations between both sides.


China works with both the EU and bilaterally with each member state on S&T and innovation. The EU member states are thus actively engaged in coordinating their cooperation with China towards a more strategic approach under the European Council’s Strategic Forum on International Co-operation (SFIC). SFIC is an advisory body to the Council and the Commission with a view to implementing a European Partnership in the field of international S&T cooperation. This is important since resources at national level are significant and a joint approach seems crucial for the success of relations with China in the medium to long-term.


The EU Delegation Beijing plays a central role in trying to find synergies and in coordinating the individual national activities of the EU Member States located in China as well as the Associated Countries to Horizon 2020. Regular S&T Counsellors’ meetings as well as dedicated working group meetings are the main drivers of the coordination. They allow the exchange of information on research policies and experiences of common concern. Furthermore, they lead to concrete outputs like the organisation of joint events, joint promotion of funding programmes and to the edition of joint publications.



The Research and Innovation Tour - so-called "TOUR OF CHINA" - is a symbolic visible sign of JOINT efforts between the Delegation of the European Union to China, the Embassies and Consulates of the EU Member States and Countries Associated to the Framework Programme based in China. As an ambitious awareness raising campaign the Tour is leading through major R&D cities in several provinces across China. With an introduction of Europe's excellence in science and innovation and R&D funding programmes at bilateral and EU level, the Tour seeks consolidate Europe's position as THE strong partner and destination for China with regards to science and innovation cooperation.

Under the umbrella of the 40th anniversary of EU China relations, the 2015 Research and Innovation Tour led through 16 cities in 14 provinces across China attracting an audience of more than 2200 interested and experienced Chinese research and innovation stakeholders all over the country. The Tour was organised in cooperation with the China Science and Technology Exchange Centre (CSTEC) under the Ministry of Science and Technology.

The 2014, third edition of the Tour of China was organised in partnership with the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), one of the EU's key partners for collaborative research. It included visits to some of most famous CAS institutes across China with stops in Xiamen, Shenzhen, Guangzhou, Chengdu, Kunming, Shanghai, Hefei, Suzhou, and concluding in Beijing.


Take a tour through Europe and learn about the opportunities that are offered in each of the countries.

28 EU Member States                     13 Associated Countries

    Austria                  Belgium                          Albania

    Bulgaria                Croatia                 Bosnia and Herzegovina

    Cyprus                  Czech                          Faroe Islands

    Denmark               Estonia                            Iceland

    Finland                  France                              Israel

    Germany               Greece                      FYRO Macedonia

    Hungary                Ireland                            Moldavia

    Italy                      Latvia                          Montenegro

    Lithuania             Luxembourg                      Norway

    Malta                  Netherlands                       Serbia

    Poland                  Portugal                       Switzerland

    Romania                Slovakia                          Turkey

    Slovenia                 Spain                             Ukraine

    Sweden                   UK                                        


Back to Research & Innovation