Travel to the EU

Travelling in Europe is the European Union's official website for people travelling in the 28 countries of the European Union. Whether you are on holiday or business, you will find practical advice and helpful tips on a wealth of subjects, from what documents you need to getting healthcare and using your mobile phone.

There is so much for the traveller to discover and all this has been made much easier thanks to the European Union. You can move freely from country to country in Europe. Due to the Schengen Agreement, it is possible to cross many borders within the EU without being checked. What's more, the introduction of the Euro in 18 countries has eliminated the cost and inconvenience of having to exchange currencies.

There are 39 countries, including Canada, whose nationals do not need a visa to visit the EU for a period of up to three months.


*** Travel update: Changes to the validity of travel documents required to enter the EU/Schengen area***

Effective 19 July 2013 for travellers to the EU Schengen/area who are not subject to the (short-stay) visa requirement, their travel documents must remain valid until at least three months after the intended date of departure from the territory of Member States. This obligation may be waived in a justified case of emergency and on a case by case basis. 

In addition, travel documents must have been issued within the previous 10 years. Travellers with passports which do not meet these criteria will be denied entry at the border. There is no transitional period provided for the entry into force of this provision.

For more information on Schengen Visa policy, please click here.