The EU at the International Civil Aviation Organization

In September 2005, the European Commission established an Office in Montreal to handle relations with the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO). The office was officially inaugurated on 21 June 2007 by Jacques Barrot, European Commission Vice-President at the time.

The Office is part of the organisational structure of the Delegation of the European Union to Canada in Ottawa. For all enquiries and further information regarding the European Union's relations with ICAO, you are welcome to contact the Office directly. Additional information can also be found on the website of the Directorate-General for Mobility and Transport (DG MOVE).

Christopher ROSS 
Head of Office

European Aviation Safety Agency Officer


Office of the European Union in Montreal – Relations with ICAO
700 de la Gauchetière Ouest, Suite 2470
Montréal (Québec) H3B 5M2

Tel : 514-393-3220

Fax : 514-393-1656

Email :

ICAO was founded in 1944 by the original 54 Contracting States who signed the Convention on International Civil Aviation - the Chicago Convention. Today, there are 189 Contracting States in ICAO. The permanent seat and headquarters of ICAO is based in Montreal, Canada. ICAO has seven regional offices, including the European and North Atlantic Office(EUR/NAT), which is located in Paris, France.