EU Centres

The bilateral relations between the European Union on the one hand and Australia and New Zealand on the other have developed steadily over the years. The increasing breadth and depth of these bilateral engagements and cooperation is consistent with the ongoing integration of the European Union and its enhanced global role in economic policy, foreign and security policy and justice, home affairs and security issues. However, this growing interaction with the European Union is still taking place in the context of a limited awareness and understanding of the EU, its institutions and its policies in Australia and New Zealand.

Whilst acknowledging the role that education and research have to play in the economic growth of the European Union, there is also the clear need to increase knowledge about the European Union in other parts of the world. The core objectives of the EU Centre initiative in Australia and in New Zealand are to give impetus to European Studies and to raise awareness of the EU in the wider public. In addition, the EU Centre initiative aims to encourage academic exchanges with the EU and foster coordination between the different EU Centres that have been established over time.

In Australia and New Zealand, the number of EU Centres increased in 2006, with the selection of four projects - one in New Zealand and three in Australia.

In 2014 there was an increase from four to six - five in Australia and one in New Zealand.

In New Zealand the EU Centres Network (EUCN) at the National Centre for Research on Europe at the University of Canterbury in Christchurch encompasses eight NZ universities.

In Australia there are five Centres, as follows:


The Australian National University Centre for European Studies (ANUCES) was the first EU Centre in Australia set up in 2001 and continues its success focussing on inter-government relations, policy development and capacity building.

The EU Centre at RMIT in Melbourne builds on its success of the last four years with a focus on governance and the Single Market, developing stronger science, technology, business and governmental partnerships and comparative regional policy.

The Hawke EU Centre for Mobilities, Migrations and Cultural Transformations at the University of South Australia will focus on the global challenges caused by the increasing displacement of people and communities in the 21st century.

The EU Centre for Global Affairs at the University of Adelaide will focus on enhanced international trade and regional cooperation in the Asia and Pacific regions, promoting the multilateral rules-based trading system, and the bilateral trade and investment relationship between the EU, Australia and Asia.

The EU Centre on Shared Complex Challenges is co-funded by the European Commission and The University of Melbourne.

The University of Melbourne EU Centre on Shared Complex Challenges will focus on strengthening EU-Australia and international collaboration on challenges such as climate change, regional governance and business innovation through engagement across political, scientific and economic dimensions.


The European Union Centres Network New Zealand (EUCN) started in 2006 following the successful pilot project.   The Centre for Research on Europe includes all 8 NZ Universities and will focus on the normative power of Europe, comparative transnational integration, and EU monetary and financial integration.


EU Centres flyer pdf - 195 KB [195 KB]

EU Centres Media Release pdf - 73 KB [73 KB]